Home > Music > +Rock
David Bowie - Space Oddity [Rykodisc Edition, Bonus Tracks] (1990)
Posted By : franklee | Date : 04 Oct 2021 09:23 | Comments : 0
David Bowie - Space Oddity

David Bowie - Space Oddity
Rykodisc | 1990 | Rock | MP3 | CBR 320 kbps | 56:52 | 137 MB
Bonus Tracks

Originally released as Man of Words/Man of Music, Space Oddity was David Bowie's first successful reinvention of himself. Abandoning both the mod and Anthony Newley fascinations that marked his earlier recordings, Bowie delves into a lightly psychedelic folk-rock, exemplified by the album's soaring title track. Bowie actually attempts a variety of styles on Space Oddity, as if he were trying to find the ones that suited him best. As such, the record isn't very cohesive, but it is charming, especially in light of his later records. Nevertheless, only "Wild Eyed Boy From Freecloud" and "Memory of a Free Festival" rank as Bowie classics, and even those lack the hooks or purpose of "Space Oddity."

CD releases

Space Oddity was first released on CD by RCA in 1984. In keeping with the 1972 RCA LP release, the track "Don't Sit Down" remained missing. The German (for the European market) and Japanese (for the United States market) masters were sourced from different tapes and are not identical for each region.

In 1990, the album was rereleased by Rykodisc/EMI with an expanded track listing including a restored "Don't Sit Down" as well as "Conversation Piece" and the two-part re-recording of "Memory of a Free Festival" that had been released as a single in 1970.

The album was reissued again in 1999 by EMI, without bonus tracks but with 24-bit digitally remastered sound and retaining the original "Don't Sit Down". The Japanese mini LP replicates the cover of the original Philips LP.

Digital Remastering: Dr. Toby Mountain, assisted by Jonathan Wyner
Package Design: Reiner Design Consultants, Inc
Produced: Gus Dudgeon
Arranged: David Bowie, Paul Buckmaster
Engineered: Ken Scott


David Bowie (vocal, guitar, stylophone)
Rick Wakeman (keyboards)
Tony Visconti (bass)
Terry Cox (drums)
Paul Buckmaster (cello)
Mick Ronson (guitar)
Tony Visconti (bass)
Mick Woodmansey (drums)

****(collective line-up)
David Bowie (vocals, guitar, stylophone, kalimba, rosedale electric organ)
Keith Christmas (guitar)
Mick Wayne (Guitar)
Tim Renwick (guitar, flute, recorder)
Rick Wakeman (mellotron, electric harpsichord)
Tony Visconti (bass, flute, recorder)
Honk, Herbie Flowers (bass)
John Cambridge (drums)
Terry Cox (drums)
Benny Marshall and Friends (harmonica)

Muscians On Bonus Tracks:

Coversation Piece
David Bowie (vocals, guitar)
Tim Renwick (guitar)
John Lodge (bass)
John Cambridge (drums)

Memory Of A Free Festival I + II
David Bowie (vocals, guitar)
Mick Ronson (guitar)
Tony Visconti (bass)
Mick Woodmansey (drums)

Studio: Trident Studios in London


1 Space Oddity
2 Unwashed and Somewhat Slightly Dazed
3 Don't Sit Down
4 Letter to Hermione
5 Cygnet Committee
6 Janine
7 An Occasional Dream
8 Wild Eyed Boy From Freecloud
9 God Knows I'm Good
10 Memory of a Free Festival

Bonus Tracks

11 Conversation Piece [Bonus Track] (1970 B-side of "The Prettiest Star")
12 Memory of a Free Festival Part 1 [Bonus Track] (1970 single version A-side)
13 Memory of a Free Festival Part 2 [Bonus Track] (1970 single version B-side)


[i]I won't keep replacing reported links, either. It's beyond a joke. People who donate deserve better security for their links.
No comments for the news

Donate please!