Home > Music > +Rock > Alternate | Indie
30 Seconds To Mars - A Beautiful Lie (2005 / 2007)
Posted By : franklee | Date : 25 Nov 2021 00:37:00 | Comments : 0
30 Seconds To Mars - A Beautiful Lie

30 Seconds To Mars - A Beautiful Lie
Virgin Music | 2005 | Rock | MP3, CBR 320 kbps | 55:36 | +/- 95 MB

A Beautiful Lie is the second studio album by alternative rock band 30 Seconds to Mars. It was released on August 30, 2021 under Virgin Records. The album was produced by Josh Abraham and 30 Seconds to Mars.

The album produced four singles, "Attack," "The Kill," "From Yesterday," and "A Beautiful Lie"; three of the four songs managed to chart within the top thirty on the U.S. Modern Rock chart, with "The Kill" and "From Yesterday" both entering the top ten. It has also gone Platinum, shipping over 1 million copies. Also Going on to be Gold certified in Canada (50,000 copies) by March 2007.[1]

A Beautiful Lie is different from the band's debut album, 30 Seconds to Mars, both musically and lyrically. Whereas the eponymous concept albums's lyrics focus on human struggle and astronomical themes,[2] and the music was heavily atmospheric, the lyrics of A Beautiful Lie are "personal and less cerebral," and the music takes on a youthful, more post-hardcore approach by introducing intense screaming and deemphasizing synth effects.

When rock bands include a Hollywood actor among their ranks, more often than not the results are mediocre vanity projects. However, 30 Seconds to Mars proves to be an exception to this rule, with Jared Leto (renowned for roles in FIGHT CLUB ... Full Descriptionand LORD OF WAR) capably fronting this intense pop-metal outfit. On the group's second album, A BEAUTIFUL LIE, Leto is a remarkably versatile vocalist and the band's sole songwriter, leading the quartet through potent tracks that recall A Perfect Circle and Deftones. For those who like emotive, high-energy alt-metal, 30 Seconds to Mars is sure to strike a chord, regardless of its famous connections.

"A Beautiful Llie" was produced by Josh Abraham, whose credits also include Velvet Revolver and Linkin Park. This edition includes bonus track 'Was It A Dream' (acoustic version).

Recording information: Pulse Recording, Los Angeles, California (2005).

Arranger: Wataru Hokoyama.

30 Seconds To Mars: Matt Wachter, Tomo Milcevic, Shannon Leto.

Additional personnel: Neel Hammond, Caroline Campbell (violin); Miguel Atwood-Ferguson (viola); Vanessa Freebairn-Smith (cello); Matt Serletic (piano); Oliver Goldstein (synthesizer); Steve Dress (double bass).

Kerrang (Magazine) (p.49) - "[A] great album to close your eyes and fall in to, an anthemic eruption of upfront emotion..."

Producer: Josh Abraham
Personnel: Shannon Leto
Also: Neel Hammond, Miguel Atwood-Ferguson, Matt Serletic, Caroline Campbell, Oliver Goldstein, Vanessa Freebairn-Smith, Steve Dress

2007 re-release
The album was re-released yet again in 2007, following extensive touring throughout Europe, in an attempt to expose themselves to a larger audience. This re-release is essentially the same as the original release, just with different artwork. The re-release does not contain the new version of "The Kill," nor does it contain a bonus DVD. The album was re-released in Ireland again in November 2007. This version contains the new version of "The Kill" and a second bonus track, an acoustic version of "A Beautiful Lie" recorded live on a radio session.


01. Attack
02. A Beautiful Lie
03. The Kill
04. Was It A Dream
05. The Fantasy
06. Savior
07. From Yesterday
08. The Story
09. R-Evolve
10. A Modern Myth
11. Battle Of One
12. Hunter

No comments for the news

Donate please!