Home > Music
Chris Smither - Don't It Drag On
Posted By : azor2010 | Date : 04 Mar 2022 21:13:12 | Comments : 2

Chris Smither - Don't It Drag On
Folk/Rock | MP3 192 CBR | 54 MB | 1972
Covers included

With his debut, I'm a Stranger Too!, Chris Smither had already proven himself to be a rare combination — a Cambridge folkie with roots in New Orleans, a great writer who knows when to look elsewhere for material, a masterful guitarist who understands simplicity and a powerful singer with restraint. Released in 1972, Don't It Drag On continues this mix and is every bit as good as its predecessor, maybe better.

Smither's folk-blues have a soul and intelligence that mesh well with current covers by Bob Dylan, the Rolling Stones and the Grateful Dead, yet seems as ageless as Blind Willie McTell's "Statesboro Blues" (also included here). Tracks such as "Another Way to Find You," "I've Got Mine" and "Lonesome Georgia Brown" are as enduring as contemporary blues and folk get. And while the bulk of Smither's material has a ruminative, melancholic tone, don't expect typical singer/songwriter fare. There's a maturity and depth to songs such as "I Feel the Same" (also recorded by Bonnie Raitt), "Every Mother's Son" and the title cut that's beyond that of most of his peers. Smither's originals may not have the energy of "Statesboro Blues" or Dylan's "Down in the Flood," but there's an easy, rolling assurance and plainspoken eloquence at work that more than make up for it. Smither went on to record one more album for Poppy, but was dropped by the label before its release. The record, Honeysuckle Dog, remained in the vaults for over 30 years before being issued in 2004. Don't It Drag On, which was re-released in 1997 as part of a two-fer with his debut, I'm a Stranger Too!, would be his last until It Ain't Easy in 1985.

01 Lonesome Georgia Brown Smither 2:43
02 Down in the Flood Dylan 3:13
03 I've Got Mine Smither 2:55
04 Statesboro Blues McTell 3:16
05 Another Way to Find You Smither 3:49
06 No Expectations Jagger, Richards 3:08
07 Friend of the Devil Dawson, Garcia, Hunter 3:32
08 Don't It Drag On Smither 3:22
09 Every Mother's Son Smither 3:25
10 Mail Order Mystics Smither 2:18
11 I Feel the Same Smither 3:21
No Mirrors Please
Posted By: The Mask Of God Date: 06 Mar 2022 00:43:56
Thanks man, this is a pretty good album, but just letting you know track 8, the title track, skips very badly. There's also skips in the last track... but the rest of the album seems fine :)
Posted By: azor2010 Date: 06 Mar 2022 02:13:25
I contacted the guy that I trade this and other albums with, and I asked him if I could get a clean copy but his copy unfortunally is excatly like this one, if I find a good one I will replace it.
Recent searches:

Donate please!